China Top Four Sacred Taoist Mountains

Taoism is one of the major religions in China with a long history, which can date back to two thousand years ago. There are many Taoist Mountains in China, while the most famous mountains in history of China are Mount Longhu, Mount Qingcheng, Mount Qiyun and Mount Wudang. The following is a brief introduction of the most widely known Taoist mountain in China, which you can have a good knowledge of them.

Mount Longhu

Mount Longhu is located in the Yingtan City of Jiangxi Province, about 20 kilometers away from the downtown Yingtan. Known as one of the Four Sacred Mountains of Taoism, there are many Taoist temples built upon the mountainside. Covering an area of 220 square kilometers, there are 99 peaks, 24 caves and 108 natural and human landscapes in Mount Longhu. Mount Longhu is a typical landscape site featured of the Danxia landform in the world and it was inscribed on the World Heritage List as part of the complex of six sites that make up the China Danxia by UNESCO in August 2010. 

Mount Qingcheng

Mount Qingcheng is located in the southwest of Dujiangyan City in Sichuan Province, about 68 kilometers northwest of Chengdu City and 16 kilometers southwest of Dujiangyan City. Known as one of the Four Sacred Mountains of Taoism, it was believed to be one of the places where Taoism was first born. Covering a total area of 200 square kilometers, its highest peak is the Laoxiaoding Peak, has an elevation of 1260 meters above sea level. Mount Qingcheng has divided into two main sections, Front Mountain and Back Mountain. It was listed as World Cultural Heritage by UNESCO in 2000.

Mount Qiyun

Mount Qiyun is a mountain and national park located about 15 kilometers to the western Xiuning County in Anhui Province, China. It is one of the Four Sacred Mountains of Taoism with the highest point of the mountain rises to 585 meters. Lies about 33 kilometers to the west of Huangshan City and covers a total area of 60 square kilometers, Mount Qiyun is famous for its numerous inscriptions and tablets, as well as monasteries and temples.

Wudang Mountain

The Wudang Mountain, also known as Mount Taihe, is located in the western of Danjiangkou City in Hubei Province. Covering an area of 400 kilometers, Wudang Mountain are east to Xiangyang City, West to Shiyan City, back against the Shennongjia forest region and face the Danjiangkou reservoir. The main peak of the Wudang Mountain is Heavenly Pillar Peak with its elevation of 1,612 meters above sea level. Wudang Mountain is one of the Four Sacred Mountains of Taoism with many peaks, caves, springs and grotesque rocks in it.   

Pin It to Pinterest